Technology & Engineering Education
Association of Pennsylvania

William J. Wilkinson Scholarship

The TEEAP Annual Scholarship is named in honor of William J. Wilkinson (pictured left), a founding father of the organization and the second person to serve as President of the Association, then the Industrial Arts Association of Pennsylvania (IAAP). Not only did Wilkinson help to create the Association, but he remained active in the Association from the formative years prior to charter in 1952 until his passing in 1997. Wilkinson set a standard for professional service that literally spanned more than 50 years.

The Technology & Engineering Education Association of Pennsylvania (TEEAP) awards a scholarship annually to assist outstanding technology education students during their student teaching placement in their preparation as technology education teachers. The purpose of the scholarship is to promote the growth and leadership of prospective technology education teachers. It is to be used for paying undergraduate tuition, fees, and other expenses related to student teaching at a Pennsylvania university preparing technology education teachers. There will be up to two $1000 scholarships awarded annually. The applicant must submit an application describing his or her educational background and noteworthy achievements. In addition, reasons should be explained for wanting to become a technology education teacher.

To be considered, the applicant’s technology education teacher education program advisor must fill out the applicant approval form, which is located in the scholarship application. A minimum of two recommendations from individuals must also be submitted. The two letters should come from non-relatives that can speak to the applicant’s scholarship, leadership, and/or teaching abilities. Additionally, it is the applicant's responsibility to see that all materials are forwarded by the deadline. The application and recommendations may be submitted under separate cover.

Applications for the scholarship are available on the TEEAP website and from the TEEAP Scholarship Committee chairperson.

Award Process

Applications for this scholarship should be submitted no later than September 15 of each year. All applications should be sent to the TEEAP Scholarship Awards Committee Chair. Credentials of the applicants will be reviewed, verified and evaluated by a committee. The committee will rank the top three potential recipients, thus allowing for the awarding of the scholarship should the selected recipient be unable to accept it.

Each scholarship recipient will be notified by October 10 of each year. The official presentation will be made at the awards ceremony of the Annual TEEAP Conference. Scholarship money will be forwarded to the winner at the start of the spring semester so the money can be used to support the recipient during student teaching.

Click here to submit your scholarship application

For More Information Contact
Jocelyn Long, TEEAP Scholarship Chair

Past Recipients of this Scholarship

1998 - Jennifer Smoller & Elizabeth Armstrong

1999 - Nathaniel Bender & Robert Decker

2000 - Joseph Skelly & Daniel Dlugos

2001 - Tracy Reick & Kevin Hufnagl

2002 - Erin Mack & Jonathan Barkand

2003 - Matt Hensler & Lauren Horner

2004 - Jana Zinn & Therasa Petrick

2005 - Matt Nebel & Daniel Cavanaugh

2006 - Jamiel Smoker & Joshua Troutman

2007 - Michael Santos & Gregory Betz

2008 - Emily Ellis & Blake Bardman

2009 - Gary Thomas & Lucas Sandoe

2010 - Emily Rieser & Sean Cummins

2011 - Daniel Lingle & Zachary Szczerba

2012 - Todd Krugle & Gregory Schneider

2013 - Juliana Lapek & Shane Waters

2014 - Amanda Piergallini & Alexander Peterson

2015 - Asa Williams IV & Adam Kennedy

2016 - Robert Hazlett, Michelle Heckelman, & Hannah Card

2017 - Jeffrey Swartz & Colin Phillips

2018 - Cally Fleming & Jeremiah Shillingburg

2019 - Jeff Hatala & Zachary Pilaski

2020 - Aleia Baker & Cameron Fletcher

2021 - Nathaniel Maiellano

Get Social with TEEAP!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software